Check the full list of registered athletes, coaches and alumni bolded below!


Nominees were named on Thursday for the 29th annual Kamloops Sports Council Athletic Awards, which will be handed to the city’s best of 2018 on May 11 at the Coast Kamloops Hotel and Conference Centre.

Kristina Dodd of the Kamloops Gymnastics and Trampoline Centre, Maddy Gobeil of the South Kamloops Titans’ senior girls’ basketball team and Abigail Donaldson of the Kamloops Canoe and Kayak Club are nominated in the female athlete of the year category, sponsored by LN Group.

Gavin Dodd of the KGTC, Nick Sarai of South Kam’s senior boys’ basketball team and Stanley Netherton of the KCKC are up for male athlete of the year, with the award sponsored by the Kamloops Minor Baseball Association.

Dylan Armstrong of the Kamloops Track and Field Club, Tim Unaegbu of the Titans’ senior boys’ hoops squad and Stanislav Marek of the KCKC are nominated for the Coach of the Year Award, sponsored by Tim Hortons Kamloops.

Both the boys’ and girls’ basketball teams from South Kam are nominated for the Team of the Year Award, along with the Corryn Brown curling rink. The category is sponsored by the Kamloops Blazers Sports Society.

Three are nominated in the Sport Person of the Year Award, presented by Nutech Fire Protection and Safety Services — Niki Remesz, president of the 2019 B.C. Winter Games, Keith Liddiard, former Kamloops Youth Soccer Association executive director, and multi-sport organizer and volunteer Jan Antons.

Para shot put athlete Greg Stewart, women’s hockey player Kendra Woodland and speed skater Josie Morrison are nominated in the international excellence category, sponsored by PacificSport Interior BC.

The University Award nominees are Megan Dalke of the UBC Thunderbirds’ swimming team, Kyle Pauwels of the Saint Leo Lions’ lacrosse team and Tim Dobbert of the TRU WolfPack men’s volleyball team. The category is sponsored by TRU athletics.

The Kamloops Interior Dragons women’s dragon boat team, cyclist Mike Stewart-Smith and fastball player Dave Arthurs are nominated for the Masters Athlete Award, presented by Royal Canadian Legion Branch No. 52.

Awards will be handed out in conjunction with the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame banquet.

B.C. Lions’ legend Geroy Simon will be guest speaker.

Tickets for the event are $50 and available at the Kamloops Box Office at Sandman Centre.

The Kamloops Sports Council, founded in 1990, promotes communication, development, education and participation in sport.